top left image
top graphic top graphic, The Most Sought After Series in Decades
What is The Lunar Series

The Perth Mint Australian Lunar Series Gold and Silver Bullion Coins commemorate the Chinese Lunar calendar for the 12-year cycle starting in 1996 and ending in 2007. The Series was originally introduced in only gold, but in 1999 The Mint added silver coins.

The 2006 Year of the Pig is the twelfth and final gold coin for the Perth Mint Australian Lunar Gold and Silver Bullion Coin Series. For the silver coins, the Mint will produce Rats in 2008, Oxen in 2009, and Tigers in 2010 so that collectors of the silver coins can have coins for all twelve years of the Lunar Calendar.

view year of the pig coins >>

Year of the Pig
Select by year

Select the year you were born and find out what animal corresponds to your birth year.

Featured Coin Featured Coin - Year of the Dog

Because of the popularity of dogs, the one-ounce 2006 Gold Dogs look to be the next coin in the Series to reach the 30,000-coin production cap.

view year of the dog coins >>

Featured Coin
Collectible News

Visit this site regularly for news updates on The Perth Mint Australian Lunar Gold and Silver Bullion Coin Series-and other news about developments in the exciting world of collectible coins.

Featured Coin
top right image
bottom graphic